Licensing, Assessments & Payments
A producer, producer-distributor, distributor, or jobber may not engage in the business of producing or selling milk in Montana without having obtained a license from the Milk Control Bureau. There is a $2 annual fee which goes to the Montana general fund. In addition to the license required by our bureau, the Milk and Egg Bureau also requires a license, both of which are necessary to do business in Montana.
Download License Application Forms (PDF) below:
Fiscal Year 2020
The Milk Control Board levies an assessment upon producers, producer-distributors, and distributors to provide funds to administer and enforce the Milk Control Act. The assessment is the sole source of funding for the Board of Milk Control and Montana Department of Livestock Milk Control Bureau.
Assessment Rates for fiscal year 2019 and 2020 (on sales of the total volume of all milk subject to the Milk Control Act):
- Producer-distributors: $0.06 per hundredweight.
- Producers: $0.03 per hundredweight
- Distributors: $0.03 per hundredweight
Download Assessment Reporting Forms (Excel) below:
Fiscal Year 2020
Payment of Licenses & Assessments
Licenses and assessments can be paid electronically online (ACH debit or credit card). Use of the online payment system is encouraged in combination with e-mailing license applications and monthly sales reports to firstname.lastname@example.org. To make payments online, please use the following link: https://appengine.egov.com/apps/mt/LIV/navigation. Here are payment instructions (with screenshots).
Use of the online payment system is optional; the bureau also accepts mailed-in license applications, sales reports, and checks. The Milk Control Bureau mailing address is
Milk Control Bureau
PO Box 202003
Helena, MT 59620-2003
The following fees apply to each type of payment.
- ACH Debit (transfer from checking or savings account): $2.00 per transaction
- Credit Card (Visa / Mastercard / Discover / American Express): $1.25 per transaction plus 2.15% of the payment amount
With the above fee structures, the fee for a ACH Debit transaction costs less than a credit card transaction when a payment (before fees) is more than $34.88.