Montana Department of Livestock – Milk Control Program Production Month Due Dates for 2024



Milk Control Program

	Sales Month												
	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	Jun	Jul	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec	
Task	Due Date (2024)												
Price Announcements	12/20/23	1/18	2/22	3/20	4/17	5/22	6/20	7/17	8/21	9/18	10/23	11/20	
Quota/Excess Price Reporting – Pooling Reports	2/13	3/13	4/13	5/13	6/13	7/13	8/13	9/13	10/13	11/13	12/13	1/13/2025	
Payments from Settlement Fund*	2/15	3/15	4/15	5/15	6/17	7/15	8/15	9/16	10/15	11/15	12/16	1/15/2025	

^{*}Payments from Settlement Fund: two business days following reporting of pooling calculation results.

Distributors that are Pool Handlers

	Sales Month												
	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	Jun	Jul	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec	
Task	Due Date (2024)												
Distributor Reports Submitted to Milk Control Program	2/8	3/8	4/8	5/8	6/10	7/8	8/8	9/9	10/8	11/8	12/9	1/8/2025	
Distributor Assessment Forms & Payment of Assessments													
(Milk Control Assessment: Producer, Distributor.													
Milk Inspection Assessment: Producer, Plant) to Milk Control Program*	2/25	3/25	4/25	5/25	6/25	7/25	8/25	9/25	10/25	11/25	12/25	1/25/2025	
Payments to the Settlement Fund**	2/25	3/25	4/25	5/25	6/25	7/25	8/25	9/25	10/25	11/25	12/25	1/25/2025	
Fiscal Year 2025 License Renewal***							7/1/24						

^{*}Due Date: Monthly submission of assessment forms and assessment payments is required on or before the 25th day of each month for sales from the preceding month.

- Per 81-23-204(2), MCA: In place of suspension or revocation of a license, the board may assess a civil penalty not to exceed \$500 per day for each daily failure to comply with or each daily violation of the provisions of this chapter or of any lawful order or rule of the board. A penalty may not be assessed until after the cause of the penalty has been upheld following the notice and hearing requirements.
- Per 81-23-202(6), MCA: Failure of a producer-distributor, producer, or distributor to pay an assessment when due is a violation of this chapter, and the board may revoke a license upon due cause and after a hearing. A licensee shall pay all assessments accrued through the date a license is revoked under this section. A revoked license must be reinstated by the board upon payment of all accrued assessments and a delinquency fee established by rule.

^{**}Payments to the settlement fund: on or before the 25th day of the month following the related month of production.

^{***}Fiscal Year 2025 License Renewal: Submission of license application and payment of \$2 license fee due by July 1, 2024.

Montana Department of Livestock – Milk Control Program Production Month Due Dates for 2024



Out-of-State Distributors

	Sales Month											
	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	Jun	Jul	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec
Task	Due Date (2024)											
Out-of-State Distributor Assessment Form &												
Payment of Milk Control Assessment to Milk Control Program*	2/25	3/25	4/25	5/25	6/25	7/25	8/25	9/25	10/25	11/25	12/25	1/25/2025
Fiscal Year 2025 License Renewal**							7/1/24					

^{*}Due Date: Monthly submission of assessment forms and assessment payments is required on or before the 25th day of each month for sales from the preceding month.

- Per 81-23-204(2), MCA: In place of suspension or revocation of a license, the board may assess a civil penalty not to exceed \$500 per day for each daily failure to comply with or each daily violation of the provisions of this chapter or of any lawful order or rule of the board. A penalty may not be assessed until after the cause of the penalty has been upheld following the notice and hearing requirements.
- Per 81-23-202(6), MCA: Failure of a producer-distributor, producer, or distributor to pay an assessment when due is a violation of this chapter, and the board may revoke a license upon due cause and after a hearing. A licensee shall pay all assessments accrued through the date a license is revoked under this section. A revoked license must be reinstated by the board upon payment of all accrued assessments and a delinquency fee established by rule.

Producer-Distributors

	Production / Sales Month												
	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	Jun	Jul	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec	
Task	Due Date (2024)												
Producer-Distributor Report of Receipts & Utilization.													
Assessment Form; and Payment of Assessments													
(Milk Control and Milk Inspection) to Milk Control Program*	2/25	3/25	4/25	5/25	6/25	7/25	8/25	9/25	10/25	11/25	12/25	1/25/2025	
Fiscal Year 2025 License Renewal**							7/1/24						

^{*}Due Date: Monthly submission of assessment forms and assessment payments is required on or before the 25th day of each month for sales from the preceding month.

- Per 81-23-204(2), MCA: In place of suspension or revocation of a license, the board may assess a civil penalty not to exceed \$500 per day for each daily failure to comply with or each daily violation of the provisions of this chapter or of any lawful order or rule of the board. A penalty may not be assessed until after the cause of the penalty has been upheld following the notice and hearing requirements.
- Per 81-23-202(6), MCA: Failure of a producer-distributor, producer, or distributor to pay an assessment when due is a violation of this chapter, and the board may revoke a license upon due cause and after a hearing. A licensee shall pay all assessments accrued through the date a license is revoked under this section. A revoked license must be reinstated by the board upon payment of all accrued assessments and a delinquency fee established by rule.

^{**}Fiscal Year 2025 License Renewal: Submission of license application and payment of \$2 license fee due by July 1, 2024.

^{**}Fiscal Year 2025 License Renewal: Submission of license application and payment of \$2 license fee due by July 1, 2024.

Montana Department of Livestock – Milk Control Program Production Month Due Dates for 2024



Jobbers

	Sales Month												
	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	Jun	Jul	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec	
Task	Due Date (2024)												
Import Jobbers Assessment Form &													
Payment of Milk Control Assessment to Milk Control Program*	2/25	3/25	4/25	5/25	6/25	7/25	8/25	9/25	10/25	11/25	12/25	1/25/2025	
Fiscal Year 2024 License Renewal**				•			7/1/24						

^{*}Due Date: Monthly submission of assessment forms and assessment payments is required on or before the 25th day of each month for sales from the preceding month.

- Per 81-23-204(2), MCA: In place of suspension or revocation of a license, the board may assess a civil penalty not to exceed \$500 per day for each daily failure to comply with or each daily violation of the provisions of this chapter or of any lawful order or rule of the board. A penalty may not be assessed until after the cause of the penalty has been upheld following the notice and hearing requirements.
- Per 81-23-202(6), MCA: Failure of a producer-distributor, producer, or distributor to pay an assessment when due is a violation of this chapter, and the board may revoke a license upon due cause and after a hearing. A licensee shall pay all assessments accrued through the date a license is revoked under this section. A revoked license must be reinstated by the board upon payment of all accrued assessments and a delinquency fee established by rule.

^{**}Fiscal Year 2025 License Renewal: Submission of license application and payment of \$2 license fee due by July 1, 2024.