Livestock Dealer Licensing
Are you a livestock dealer? According to Montana law (MCA 81-8-213), you are if you purchase livestock for…
- Immediate resale (reselling within 60 days of purchase);
- Interstate shipment;
- A commission or fee;
- The account of others;
- On behalf of a livestock dealer or market.
If you meet any of these criteria, you’re a livestock dealer and must be licensed by the Montana Department of Livestock. Please note that the term “dealer” does not include farmers or ranchers who buy or sell livestock in the ordinary course of a ranching or farming operation.
In order to obtain a Montana livestock dealer license, specific requirements must be met.
First, if you’ve never been licensed with MDOL before, you’ll need to register with USDA-Grain Inspection, Packers & Stockyards (USDA-GIPSA). Staff from the GIPSA regional office that serves your area will work with you to obtain bonding ($10,000 minimum requirement). Once registered and bonded, annual updates to your registration information will be required.
To obtain a Montana livestock dealer license…
- Submit a completed and notarized Livestock Dealer License Application to Montana Department of Livestock, ATTN: Dealer Licensing/Laura Hughes, PO Box 202001, Helena MT 59620-2001.
- The applicant must provide proof of proper bonding, or its equivalent, with USDA-GIPSA;
- The applicant must submit a license fee for each person who intends to act as an agent for the applicant.
- The applicant must provide either a signed and dated Affirmation Letter or a detailed balance sheet. An affirmation letter is a statement where the applicant agrees that his/her total assets are greater than his/her total liabilities.
Dealer license fees are $50 for first-time dealers and $50 for each additional buyer; dealer renewals are $250. Market license fees are $700 per market, and $250 per additional buyer.
Livestock dealers who are already licensed must renew their licenses annually. The department sends out renewal notices annually in April.
Questions? Call Laura Hughes at 406/444-2788.