Skip Navigation Links Home >> Animal Health >> Import Requirements

Montana Import Requirements

  • All animals entering Montana must have:
  1. A current Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI)
  2. An import permit.
  3. Met all animal health import requirements

Please select the species you are importing to find out about species specific import requirements including: CVI, permit, vaccination, testing, and identification requirements.

NOTE: Every effort is made to keep these requirements current and accurate. Please call the Department of Livestock at (406) 444-2043 during regular business hours (8 AM – 4:45 PM MST, Monday – Friday) for the latest information.

Import permits may be obtained by:

  • Calling the import line at (406) 444-2976.
    • While the permit line is available to veterinarians 24 hours a day, seven days a week, not all permit types are available during non-business hours.
  • Emailing a scan or photo of the CVI to
    • Please put "Permit Request" in the subject line.
    • Requests received by 4:00 PM MST on regular business days will be processed same-day.
    • Approved permit numbers will be emailed to the requesting party.
  • Equine import permits are also available online at

Special Requirements Due to Vesicular Stomatitis:

Any livestock (equine, bovine, porcine, caprine, ovine, or cervidae) entering Montana from a county where vesicular stomatitis has been diagnosed within the last fourteen (14) days or a county that contains a premises quarantined for vesicular stomatitis shall be accompanied by a certificate of veterinary inspection dated within fourteen (14) days of entry and containing the following statement: "All animals identified on this certificate of veterinary inspection have been inspected and found to be free from clinical signs of vesicular stomatitis." Current Vesicular Stomatitis Counties:
  • Colorado
    • Archuleta County 
    • Boulder County
    • Conejos County
    • Delta County
    • Douglas County
    • Fremont County
    • Garfield County
    • Jefferson County
    • Larimer County
    • Mesa County
    • Mineral County
    • Montrose County
    • Ouray County 
    • Rio Grande County
    • Route County
    • Washington County
    • Weld County
  • New Mexico 
    • Dona Ana County 
    • San Juan County  
    • San Miguel County
  • South Dakota
    • Custer County
    • Fall River
    • Lawrence County
    • Pennington County
    • Meade County
  • Utah
    • Duchesne County
    • Grand County
    • San Juan County  
  • Wyoming
    • Albany County
    • Converse County
    • Fremont County
    • Goshen County 
    • Natrona County
    • Platte County 
    • Weston County
  • Nebraska
    • Lincoln County
    • Scotts Bluff County
    • Sioux County
  • Arizona
    • Apache County

Last updated 09/30/2015



Alternative Livestock


Small Animals


Prohibited Species

Aoudad Sheep
Axis deer
Barbary sheep
Brush-tailed possum
Chamois goat
Collared Peccary
European boar
Grizzly Bears (brown bears)
Mouflon sheep

Opossum (Virginia or North American)
Prairie Dogs
Red deer
Ringtail cat (Cacomistle or Miner’s cat)
Roe deer
Rusa deer
Russian boar
Sambar deer
Sassabies (blesbok topi)
Short-tailed opossum
Sika deer
Southern Flying Squirrel
Tahr (hemitraguis)

*May be allowed for research, fur farm, exhibition under special permit from FWP in addition to CVI & Permit

If the species in question is not listed previously, or in the following two laws (see links below), then the species is prohibited for importation into the State of Montana. However, the import classification system is ongoing and subject to change. If in doubt, call (406) 444-2043.